Past Papers

WJEC (Wales) past papers & mark schemes


New exams from school year 2016/17 onwards

There are now two mathematics GCSEs: one which focuses on numeracy and the mathematics needed for everyday life, and the other extends to other aspects of mathematics including those needed for progression to scientific, technical or further mathematical study. The total content of the two new GCSEs remains similar to the previous GCSE Mathematics but the assessment places a greater emphasis on problem solving. Most young people in Wales are expected to take both mathematics GCSEs.

There are 3 tiers of entry for this qualification.

Higher Tier: Grades A* – C

Intermediate Tier: Grades B – E

Foundation Tier: Grades D – G